Install pyMedphys on MacBook M1

Hello
My name is Pareena. I’m a student of Medical physics in Thailand.

I need some favor about the installation of pyMedphy on MacBook Air (M1). My problem is I think I already installed supported software as recommendations on the website, but it still shows ‘no matches found: pymedpys[user]’ (Image1). I’m not sure which step I did wrong. How can I fix it?

Another question, what is the difference between ‘pymedphys’ and 'pymedphys[user] because the second code can run and show the result differently(image2)?

Thank you in advance
Pareena

@sjswerdloff have you seen this issue on macs?

No, but I only tried installing PyMedPhys without
any subset specified (as part of installation of OnkoDICOM). I will take a look shortly to see if I can replicate.
Installing a variety of packages on M1 is difficult and if they have underlying C++ it’s even worse (broken Cmake instructions)

This was not a problem on Intel based Mac.
I have not done a recent install on Intel based Mac, but circa 0.37, I had gone through almost each permutation of subsets without installation issues

pip install ‘pymedphys[user]’

One needs to quote the package with extras.
I’m not sure if that’s the shell (zsh) or the new version of pip.
(BTW, I used the wrong terminology… the proper term isn’t subset, it is extras, see PEP 508 – Dependency specification for Python Software Packages | peps.python.org )